Sign Up

Link to stream.

After 45 years of teaching at Oberlin, cellist and gambist Catharina Meints still delights in opportunities to perform with her former students, a number of whom are teachers, administrators, and players with prominent ensembles. Meints will be joined by two of them—Northern Ohio Youth Orchestra General Manager, cellist, and gambist Ruby Brallier MM ’19 and Grammy Award-winning Apollo’s Fire cellist and gambist Rebecca Landell Reed ’11—for a discussion of their shared love of historical performance and the varied paths they have taken in the field. It will be preceded by excerpts from Meints’ final appearance as an Oberlin faculty member prior to her May 2020 retirement, a March performance of Bach sonatas with harpsichord professor Mark Edwards. Our program concludes with an unforgettable concert of Purcell fantasias from September 2019 featuring Meints alongside Brallier, Reed, along with current and former students who convened at Oberlin to honor their mentor in her final year of teaching.

Sonata in G Major, BWV 1027     Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
     Allegro ma non tanto
Catharina Meints, viola da gamba and Mark Edwards, harpsichord 

Fantasias for Viols     Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
Fantasias for 4 Viols

  • in G Minor, Z.735
  • in B-flat Major, Z.736
  • in F Major, Z.737
  • in C Minor, Z.738
  • in D Minor, Z.739
  • in A Minor, Z.740
  • in E Minor, Z.741
  • in G Major, Z.742
  • in D Minor, Z.743

Fantasia à 5 “Upon one note”, Z.745
Fantasia in Nomine for 6 viols in G Minor, Z.746
Fantasia in Nomine for 7 viols in G Minor, Z.747

Catharina Meints, Ruby Brallier MM ’19, David Ellis ’12, MM ’13, 
Margaret Klucznik ’18, Rebecca Reed ’11, Nick Schrantz MM ’20, 
Luka Stefanovic ’22

Viols used in the performance are from the Caldwell Collection of Viols.
Treble: William Turner, London, 1652
Treble: Joachim Tielke, Hamburg, 1693
Tenor: Belgium, 18th cent.
Tenor: Eugen Sprenger, Frankfort, 1959
Tenor: Eugen Sprenger, Franfkfurt, 1959
Bass: John Rose, London, c. 1600
Bass: Barak Norman, London, 1699

Book excerpt: The Caldwell Collection of Viols

More information about the Oberlin Baroque Performance Institute

0 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity