Events Calendar

Oberlin Orchestra: Raphael Jiménez, conductor

Friday, May 9, 2014 at 8:00pm to 10:00pm

Finney Chapel 90 North Professor Street, Oberlin, OH 44074

A concert by the Oberlin Orchestra conducted by Raphael Jiménez, with pianist YiQiao Li performing the Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 1 in F-sharp Minor (2014 Senior Concerto Competition winner).


Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 1 in F-sharp Minor, Op. 1 (final version, 1919)

Vivace; Andante; Allegro vivace

Franz Schreker: Prelude to a Drama

Richard Strauss: Salome, Op. 54 (Dance of the Seven Veils)


Watch the webcast! This event will be streamed live at the time of the event.


Pianist YiQiao Li, a student of Robert Shannon, will perform on the last Oberlin Orchestra concert of the academic year. On Friday, May 9, she will play Rachmaninoff’s First Piano Concerto. Li was born in Harbin, China, and received her early music training at the Affiliated Middle School of China Conservatory of Music in Beijing. She has received top prizes in many national competitions in China, including the Xing Hai National Piano Competition and the China New Talent Competition, as well as the honor of being selected for the Beijing International Piano Festival.


Event Type

Master Class, Music


Conducting and Ensembles, Academic, Conservatory of Music, Administrative


Free admission

Contact E-mail Address

Recent Activity

People Interested (2)

Alexa Still Catia Maringolo

Getting Here