Oberlin College and Conservatory

Oberlin Orchestra: Raphael Jiménez, conductor

Saturday, September 27, 2014 at 8:00pm to 10:00pm

Finney Chapel
90 North Professor Street, Oberlin, OH 44074

Watch the webcast! This event will be streamed live at the time of the event.

A concert by the Oberlin Orchestra conducted by Raphael Jiménez, with faculty soloist Sanford Margolis, piano.

Alberto Ginastera: Pampeana No. 3, Op. 24 (1954)

    I. Adagio contemplativo

    II. Impetuosamente

    III. Largo con poetica esaltazione

Ricardo Lorenz:  "Olokun's Awakening" from The Tale of Chacumbele (2014/World Premiere)

Derek Bermel:  Slides (2003)

George Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue (1924/1942)

   Sanford Margolis, piano


Sanford Margolis first appeared with the Oberlin orchestras in 1974, performing the Schönberg Concerto, Op. 42. He has subsequently played works of Bartók, Stravinsky, Rorem, Beethoven, and most recently the Gershwin Concerto in F, with the Oberlin Orchestra. He has also played concertos with Antal Doráti, Stanisław Skrowaczewski, David Zinman ’58, Robert Spano ’83, hon. ’10, and Arthur Fiedler, among others.

     Formerly a member of the Minnesota Orchestra, Margolis taught at Baylor University, the University of Minnesota, and the University of Iowa before coming to Oberlin. A versatile musician, he has played jazz professionally for many years in addition to performing with Latin and country western groups.

     This is Margolis’ final year of teaching at Oberlin.


Event Type

Master Class, Music, Signature Programs, Latinx Heritage Series


Administrative, Conservatory of Music


Free Admission

Contact E-mail Address


Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity