Oberlin College and Conservatory

Oberlin Chamber Orchestra: Raphael Jiménez, conductor

Saturday, April 8, 2017 at 8:00pm to 10:00pm

Finney Chapel
90 North Professor Street, Oberlin, OH 44074

Watch the webcast! This event will be streamed live at the time of the event.

A performance by the Oberlin Chamber Orchestra conducted by Raphael Jiménez, with piano soloist Shiyu Yang, the 2016 Senior Concerto Competition winner, and the premiere of a work by Oberlin student composer, William Bolles-Beaven.


William Bolles-Beaven: A Web of Silver (world premiere)

Frédéric Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 11
      Allegro maestoso

      Shiyu Yang, piano


Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 in A Major, Op. 90 ("Italian")
      Allegro vivace
      Andante con moto
      Con moto moderato
      Saltarello. Presto

Pianist Shiyu Kenny Yang, a native of Shanghai, China, is currently a student of Alvin Chow and Angela Cheng at Oberlin Conservatory. His earliest musical training was through the Primary and Middle Schools affiliated with the Shanghai Conservatory of Music where he received merit scholarships for four years. In Shanghai, Yang studied with professors Jian Zhong Wang and Yun Lin Yang and participated in master classes with renowned pianists Christopher Elton, Fou Ts’ong, Jane Coop, and Daniel Shapiro. He also placed first in numerous regional piano competitions in China including the Steinway & Sons International Youth Piano Competition, the Asia-Pacific International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition, and the Parsons Music Foundation Asian Youth Music Competition.

Yang has given recital performances in Daegu and Seoul, South Korea as well as in Pu Dong and prominent venues in Shanghai, China including the Municipal Music Hall and Oriental Art Center. He also performed as soloist in Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto with the Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra in 2012. At Oberlin, Yang was awarded the 2015 Rudolf Serkin Prize.

Recent Activity