Oberlin College and Conservatory

Messiah Sing-Along: Peter Slowik, director

Sunday, December 10, 2017 at 7:00pm

Finney Chapel
90 North Professor Street, Oberlin, OH 44074

Watch the webcast! This event will be streamed live at the time of the event.

Join the chorus in the annual Messiah Sing-Along.  Experience the joy of the season with family, friends, and the Oberlin community by singing along (or just listening) to Handel's Messiah.

Event will benefit Family Promise of Lorain County.

Presented by Credo Music, Oberlin Conservatory, and Oberlin Office of Religious and Spiritual Life



Messiah, HWV 56                                                George Frideric Handel 

Helena Colindres, Jayne Diliberto, Rachel Liss, Theodora Nestorova, soprano

Aviana Burkepile, Meghan Stoll, mezzo-soprano

Matteo Adams, Conor Breton, Max Cook, Dusan Grubisic, tenor

Matthew Burn, Shawn Roth, bass


Part One

Sinfony (Overture)

Accompagnato: “Comfort Ye My People”                                                 

Air: “Every Valley Shall Be Exalted”   

Chorus: “And the Glory of the Lord”

Accompagnato: “Thus Saith the Lord”

Air: “But Who May Abide the Day of His Coming?”

Chorus: “And He Shall Purify”

Recitative: “Behold, a Virgin Shall Conceive”

Air & Chorus: “O Thou that Tellest Good Tidings to Zion”

Recitative: “For Behold, Darkness Shall Cover the Earth”

Air: “The People that Walked in Darkness”                               

Chorus: “For Unto Us a Child is Born”

Pastoral Symphony

Recitative: “There Were Shepherds Abiding in the Fields”

Recitative: “And the Angel Said Unto Them”

Chorus: “Glory to God”

Air: “Rejoice Greatly, O Daughter of Zion”

Chorus: “His Yoke is Easy”

- Intermission -

Part Two

Chorus: “Behold the Lamb of God”

Air: “He was Despised”

Chorus: “Surely He Hath Borne Our Griefs”

Chorus: “And with His Stripes We are Healed”

Chorus: “All We, Like Sheep, Have Gone Astray”

Accompagnato: “All They that See Him laugh, Him to Scorn”

Chorus: “He Trusted in God that He Would Deliver”

Accompagnato: “He was Cut Off Out of the Land of the Living”

Air: “But Thou Didst Not Leave His Soul in Hell”

Chorus: “Lift Up Your Heads, O Ye Gates”

Air: “How Beautiful Are the Feet”

Chorus: “Hallelujah!”

Part Three

Air: “I Know that My Redeemer Liveth”

Chorus: “Since by Man Came Death”

Recitative: “Then Shall be Brought to Pass”

Duet: “O Death, Where is Thy Sting?”

Chorus: “But Thanks Be to God”

Chorus: “Worthy is the Lamb”



Event Type



Academic, Strings, Administrative, Conservatory of Music


Free Admission

Contact Person

Concert Production

Contact Phone Number


Contact E-mail Address


Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity